Thursday, 19 May 2011

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson


The Sky is Everywhere
Jandy Nelson
Walker Books/Dial
[June 7, 2010/March 9, 2010]

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey
dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in
town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Please note: The UK publisher/publish date is the first listed, US is second. UK cover is blue, other covers are US. But they are all gorgeous so you must SEE THEM ALL.

 ANYWAY. This book...so incredible.


Lennie was this amazing character. She was confused and heartbroken and wonderful. I felt all of her confusion and her pain and I could feel how unsure of everything she was. It was almost like she was in denial of how grief-stricken she was and it was something I could sympathize with and understand. She did some horrible things but...I didn't hate her for it. I pitied her. I wanted to hug her. I want this girl to be my friend so I can help her through things.


Joe and Toby...oh those too. I was Team Joe from the beginning. But I didn't hate Toby or anything...I wanted him to be happy, just not by using Lennie. I wanted Lennie and Joe FOREVA. Because Lennie wasn't just Lennie with Joe...she was John Lennon. You just have to read to understand and to feel why I love Joe and to get as frustrated as I did at times.


The writing was so gorgeous. I knew all the characters, even Lennie's dead sister and her best friend, who was hardly in the novel. I was utterly addicted to the book and the writing. Totally wrapped up in the story and the characters. It's the kind of book you don't experience often. Raw and painful and lovely and honest.


I just...I can't write more. Read this damn book. End of story.


--Julie

5 comments:

  1. I think this book is one of the best ever. Absolutely amazing! Also, I agree with you on being Team Joe from the beginning. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is the second review I've seen today for a book I almost bought a few hours ago. So weird.

    Anyway, I really wish I'd bought The Sky is Everywhere! Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I completely agree- this book was amazing! So glad you read it :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. This one sounds really good. I've added it to my TBR list.

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Sky is Everywhere, is heartbreaking, hilarious, and wonderfully well written. I loved this book, it made me cry, laugh and gave me an ending I could love. Throughout the book you feel Lennie's grief, you understand her closeness to Toby, and you absolutely love Joe.

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Back to Home Back to Top Bloggers Heart Books. Theme ligneous by pure-essence.net. Bloggerized by Chica Blogger.