Monday, 20 February 2012

Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

*Unearthly spoilers be here*

Hallowed
Cynthia Hand
HarperTeen
[January 17, 2012]

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. 


Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike.

How do I explain how I felt about Hallowed?

I didn't LOVE it the way I loved the last book. There was a lot going on, but it wasn't like WOAH THINGS, it was just many medium-sized events adding together. It wasn't slow, but it wasn't this major page turner either. It was well written and interesting enough to keep me reading even though it wasn't the type of book I was in the mood for at the time.

I still like the characters, though Clara's brother irritated me through most of the book. For the most part, they were true to their personalities in the first book, which doesn't always happen in sequels. 

And, in a remarkable change of events, I went from being Team Tucker to Undecided. These medium-sized events added up in ways that made me almost like Christian more than Tucker. Almost.

Honestly, I just wanted to like this book more than I did. I wanted to love it and fall utterly in love like I did with Unearthly and it just didn't happen. I'll probably still pick up book 3, but this book was iffy for me. Though, I wasn't in the mood for paranormal at the time, so that might've played into it a lot. 

For some of you, this may be the perfect sequel. For others, it might not tickle your fancy. But it's definitely one to give a try if you enjoyed Unearthly.

--Julie

1 comment:

  1. Hmm, I keep debating whether or not to read this one. I liked Unearthly, but I'm worried I won't like this one. Although you've got me wondering what on earth Christian does to become so much more likable, because I'm definitely a Tucker fan ;)

    Very intriguing review!

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Back to Home Back to Top Bloggers Heart Books. Theme ligneous by pure-essence.net. Bloggerized by Chica Blogger.