Thursday, 19 July 2012

Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

Juliet Immortal
Stacey Jay
Random House Children's Books
[August 9, 2011]

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history's most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies.
The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

"These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
Which as they kiss consume."
—Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

This book was so ridiculously good and I loved it.

Juliet is not the same Juliet from the play, no, no. She's tough, a fighter. Her new goal is to protect the love of others since hers was destroyed. She's smart and quick and she just wants someone to love her the way she thought Romeo did. I really, really liked Juliet.

Romeo may have been my favorite character, even though he's the bad guy. He was super sarcastic and had this dark, twisted humor I really appreciated it. I know we're supposed to hate him, but I kinda rooted for him to be happy. So I was pretty psyched when I found out there's a companion novel from his perspective.

I loved the romance between Juliet and her new guy. It was lovely and awesome and adorable and just...*sigh* Yes. Yes it was.

I really enjoyed Stacey Jay's writing. She had a really unique voice for Juliet and it was refreshing to read something so different. She kept me captivated in this intense, wonderful story. I was totally engaged in this book and didn't want to put it down.

I know this is a horribly vague review, but I read the book in...March? Maybe April? It was several months ago, I know that much. But I really did love this book and I'm stoked to have a copy of Romeo Redeemed on my Kindle already. If you're like me and way behind in picking up this book, go. Do it now. Now is a good time to get this book.

--Julie

2 comments:

  1. Hi Julie!
    The minute I saw it on Goodreads (on listopia) I was like "I must read this", but I have to wait until August >_< Romeo sounds so awesome (like a Jace Herondale, except on the side of evil) I totally want to read this! Great review :D

    -Kirthi

    ReplyDelete
  2. OH MY GOSH YES! That romance was so swoonworthy.

    And I just love how kick butt Juliet was.

    :-)

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Back to Home Back to Top Bloggers Heart Books. Theme ligneous by pure-essence.net. Bloggerized by Chica Blogger.