Sunday, 15 September 2013

Book Haul (159)

Lanna:
I miss blogging. I mean, I have been blogging a little, but I miss posting reviews more frequently and writing discussion posts and stuff like that. I miss talking about books. Maybe I'll snap out of my reading slump a bit now that summer is over (some people adore summer, I hate it, it makes me miserable and usually has a negative impact on my reading).

...Sorry, none of that was book haul related really. Anyway, these are the books I've gotten since - well, whenever I last did one of these (I don't think it was too long ago this time).


For review:

The Backs by Alison Bruce - This is the fifth in a series, I think, so I won't be reading this one. Unless it's one of those ones that can work as a standalone (it might be, because I think it's one of those crime/murder/mystery-ish type books). I'll need to find that out.

Shine by Candy Gourlay - Another one I think I might be finding a new home for, just not my kind of thing.

How to Love by Katie Cotugno - Sounds like it could be good. It says it'll appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen and John Green, so I hope it lives up to that.

Monsters by Ilsa J. Bick - I still need to finish the second book. I really liked the first one but by the time the second came out I was just so beyond sick of the dystopia/post-apocalyptic kind of books. I might be able to read it now though, now that I've had a break from the genre.

That Burning Summer by Lydia Syson - Now this one I'm really excited to read (out of all of them, this was the only one I said yes to, the rest were unsolicited). I've been in the mood for books set during wars, particularly YA/NA age ones, especially if there's some romance in them, and then I got an email about this one and kjnkjd. I hope it's as good as it sounds.

Bought:

A Little Love Song by Michelle Magorian - I actually bought this one thanks to the publicist who sent me That Burning Summer. I said there isn't nearly enough YA war books and she agreed and mentioned this one, which I hadn't read or even heard of (probably because I've only ever really known the author for Good Night, Mr Tom).

The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines - I don't even remember getting this, or why, but it sounds like it could be good.

And, not pictured because it's an e-book, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell - As much as I loved Eleanor & Park, I'm not convinced I'll love this one so I got the e-book instead (reason I'm not sure I'll love it is because, while there are things in the book I can relate to, they're also things I don't enjoy reading about in books).

Any of you read any of these? Like them? Hate them? What books have you gotten recently? :)

Later.

Julie: 

This weekend included another trip back to my parents', so I can catch up on that...but it does mean I'm not 100% sure on physical books I have back in NYC. Ah well. Someday, I will be fully caught up.

Ebooks:
Fast by Ryan Ringbloom (gifted by author)
Beautiful Bombshell by Christina Lauren (purchased from Amazon)
Phoenix Overture by Jodi Meadows (purchased from Amazon)
This Side of Salvation by Jeri Smith-Ready (egalley)
Death Sworn by Leah Cypess (egalley)
Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi (egalley)
A Little Too Far by Lisa Desrochers (gifted by author)
Salvage by Alexandra Duncan (egalley)
Spiral by Mila Ferrera (purchased from Amazon)
Alienated by Melissa Landers (egalley)
Diamonds and Deceit by Leila Rasheed (egalley)
The Only Exception by Magan Vernon (egalley)
The Only One by Magan Vernon (egalley)
Palace of Spies by Sarah Zettel (egalley)

Physical Copies:
Just One Day by Gayle Forman (paperback from publisher)
Just One Year by Gayle Forman (ARC from publisher)
Dead City by Jason (hardcover from publisher)
Two Lies and a Spy by Kat Carlton (hardcover from publisher)
Once We Were by Kat Zhang (hardcover from publisher)
Tarnish by Katherine Longshore (hardcover from Strand)
Debutantes by Cora Harrison (paperback from Strand)
A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde (hardcover from Strand)
The House at Tyneford by (paperback from Strand)
Crash into You by Katie McGarry (ARC from publisher)
United We Spy by Ally Carter (hardcover from publisher)
Leaving Haven by Kathleen McCleary (ARC from publisher)
Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon (paperback from publisher)

So...I've got some reading to do. Yeah. And this doesn't include the numerous books I had to get for class (poetry and Frankenstein and Austen, oh my!) I tend to post all of the (physical) books I get on my Instagram, if you'd prefer instant updates and a guarantee of pictures, since this is obviously not all of the books I got (bonus: cats, NYC, and my day-to-day life).

What's in your mailbox lately? Anything exciting? 

--Julie

No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Back to Home Back to Top Bloggers Heart Books. Theme ligneous by pure-essence.net. Bloggerized by Chica Blogger.