Wednesday, 7 January 2015

The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

The Conspiracy of Us
Maggie Hall
Putnam Juvenile
[January 13, 2015]
ARC from publisher


A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.
Oh this book. This book and the FEELS.

I'm going to preface this review by saying reading the synopsis is SUPER important, because in my head, for some reason, I'd decided this was a dystopian? I was looking at the cover (and clearly missing the details on the bottom) and just assumed it was. Then I started reading and was really confused because of my own failure. But that definitely threw me and is probably the only reason I can't call it a favorite - I just wasn't in the right mindset for a contemporary when reading, but was enjoying it too much to put it down. I definitely need to give this one a reread and that'll probably bump it's status up. So, go back and read the premise again. Just make sure you're not stupid and confused as I was.

I really, really did like this book though. I adored Avery and how she handled this totally new, and somewhat bizarre, new station in life. Especially when considering how other characters who were already involved in this life acted. Her reactions were SO great. And these other characters? Man how I loved them and how complex and mysterious they were. Jack and Stellan, especially.

But what I think I admire most was just Maggie Hall's straight up skill. Reading this, I felt like I was reading an Ally Carter book. It had that same level of manipulating plot and characters to ensure the reader was never fully sure what was going on or who could be trusted. The full reality of the situation and who was good and who was bad was nearly impossible to figure out. There were constant twists and turns and all the characters were, as I mentioned, rather complex. 

And then you have to consider the premise itself. It's actually kind of realistic, but still out there enough to seem a little bit fantastical. So there's all this action and travel to amazing places and incredible scenarios that could maybe happen, but certainly wouldn't happen to me. I love my really realistic contemporaries and sweet little romances, but sometimes it's nice to read something that's so grand and amazing, but set in this world. I'm probably completely failing at explaining it, but it's basically a really intriguing premise that Maggie Hall pulled off so well. I was totally enthralled from beginning to end...once I got over my own bizarre belief it was a dystopian.

Basically, if you want a fun, fast-paced, action packed, romantic read with amazing characters? The Conspiracy of Us is right up your alley. I'm not even exaggerating when I said it's like reading an Ally Carter novel and I'm just going to sit here and wait for the sequel and maybe beg for an ARC to anyone who can give me one. Literally, anyone. I'm past the point of shame. So, you know, you should pick it up when it comes out next week and then wait really sadly with me (and share your ARC with me if you get one before I do because who TOLD you about this magic? Me. I did. Be fair. Sharing is caring).

--Julie

1 comment:

  1. I love this book forever and ever <3<3<3 (Better than Ally Carter's; shh, don't tell)

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Back to Home Back to Top Bloggers Heart Books. Theme ligneous by pure-essence.net. Bloggerized by Chica Blogger.