Friday, 3 July 2015

The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Fixer
Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Bloomsbury Children's
[July 7, 2015]
ARC via publicist

When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous Ivy Kendrick is Washington D.C.'s #1 “fixer,” known for making politicians' scandals go away for a price. No sooner does Tess enroll at Hardwicke Academy than she unwittingly follows in her sister's footsteps and becomes D.C.'s premier high school fixer, solving problems for elite teens.

Secrets pile up as each sister lives a double life. . . . until their worlds come crashing together and Tess finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy with one of her classmates and a client of Ivy's. Suddenly, there is much more on the line than good grades, money, or politics, and the price for this fix might be more than Tess is willing to pay.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for more in this exciting new series.

Okay, ignore that last line, because really this book is Scandal meets Veronica Mars and it's so perfect. It's suspenseful and exciting and fun and I really couldn't figure out what was going on.

I loved Tess. She was angry and she just let herself be angry. She was honest with herself and how she felt and expressing that. I liked that she wasn't likable all the time and frankly, that made her more likable to me. She really popped from the page as she made mistakes and I loved her so much. And man, IVY. So many feelings about Ivy.

The plot was incredibly twisty and totally drew me in. I couldn't put it down because it was so engrossing and such a great mystery. It got very complicated as a mix of the usual high school drama and the more high stakes world of international and political drama combined and it made it impossible to see where the story would go next or to solve the mysteries on my own. There were some things at the end that I definitely could not have predicted at the start of the story.

Honestly, I just don't want to spoil anything for you since the summary is perfectly vague enough to intrigue without giving anything away and I don't want to give anything MORE away, but this is one of the best books I've read for the year. It was incredible, fun, fast paced, and hard to put down. I highly, HIGHLY recommend picking this one up when it releases next week.

--Julie

No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Back to Home Back to Top Bloggers Heart Books. Theme ligneous by pure-essence.net. Bloggerized by Chica Blogger.